SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 30-04-11, 11:01 AM   #1
Andy B

Default SV650 brakes and buying advice please?

Hi guys,

newbie here been having a look through the forums seeing whats what with these things and thought its about time i asked the question..

I currently ride a Bandit 600 mk1... it was that or an SV when i was doing my DAS a few years ago now and a nice tidy bandit came up...

now ive been fancying an SV for a good while now and think im going to go for one.. i need that v-twim soundtrack in my life in no rush, just as soon as i see one that i just think wow i'll be handing over the moneys...

SO... i thought i'd ask what they're like... the bandit has been hugely reliable bless it, but have had umpteen problems with the front brakes in the past 6 months or so... calipers seized bad - was cleaning them out every fortnight to no avail, knackered discs to boot, so ended up shelling out for new discs and fab'ing up a 6 pot conversion...

what are the SV brakes like? theyre still on sliders arent they? am i walking back into a minefield? is there a 4-pot conversion available?

i originally liked the look of the curvy style but after seeing the pointy, im liking that a whole lot more... it there any huge advantage of the pointy? is the insurance premium much higher?

and lastly is there any other common gripes or negatives i'd need to look out for?

Cheers for any pointers

Andy
Old 02-05-11, 04:59 PM   #2
Jynx

Default Re: SV650 brakes and buying advice please?

Andy,

Not sure I can answer many of your questions but I'll have a crack.