SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 05-01-05, 09:25 PM   #1
kjames

Default DAS training. how much? where etc

hi everyone.
i'm just looking into booking my DAS and finding out prices etc. It seems to be a little bit more than i was expecting - around about £600 for a 5 day course.

the other thing, i've been riding my scooter for 2 yrs now and done about 15k miles and therefore fairly experienced on the road sense side of things (although without gear changes) how long a course should I book. i was thinking the more the training the better, so a 5 day course. However i was expecting to pay £500ish max.

so, where did everyone do their training, approx how much and where they any good?. looking for west or north london.

cheers

karl
Old 05-01-05, 09:30 PM   #2
BURNER

On a DAS they don't really train you, only show you enough to pass the test. With them miles under your belt, I'd go for a 3 day course and save the wedge for some proper training.
Old 05-01-05, 09:35 PM   #3
Scoobs
Vipers Pillion Bitch
Mega Poster

I did a 2 day DAS. Only been riding for about 6 months, but probably covered 10,000 miles in that 6 months on a 125! I can't remember exactly, but £260 is in my head!

Scoobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-05, 09:39 PM   #4
Mr Toad

Default Re: DAS training. how much? where etc

Hi Karl

I did my DAS last May, like you having done 2 years trundling around on a Scooter (mine was a Gilera Runner, wot's yours ?)
Did mine in Croydon with Matchless Rider Training, £500 in total, for 3 days + test

First day, redid the CBT syllabus but using a geared bike - Honda CB125

Then 2 days on a Kawazaki 500 that had definitely seen better days
Had an hour or so before my test for some last minute practice, like u-turns