SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 23-04-10, 03:57 PM   #1
Miss_Undaztood

Default Advice on buying an SV?

Hi, newbie here looking for advice

I`m thinking about getting an SV650, not sure whether to get an `S` or a naked one due to the comfier seating/handlebar position, but have seen a naked K3 on ebay but its registered in 2007, seller states its not been imported but that most naked ones were hard to sell when they were new so its not unusual to find an older model on a newer reg, which i understand, but 4 years !!! ?
The bike has also been dropped in the past and had a colour change.
So, whats you guys thoughts ? Worth a punt if it goes cheap or leave well alone ?
Its also miles away from me ( i`m in Edinburgh ) so it would cost me a few quid to pick it up.
Old 23-04-10, 07:04 PM   #2
carternd

Default Re: 2007 k3 ?

Sounds a bit dodgy? Probably is. It's your first bike, don't worry about maximum value for money so much, a bike that isn't going to be a pain in the a*se is the way forward. Keep looking!
Old 23-04-10, 07:15 PM   #3
skidmarx

I only know what you've said about the bike, but everything you have said spells trouble IMO. Keep looking!
Old 24-04-10, 06:29 PM   #4
Miss_Undaztood

Hi, Thanks for the replies.

Yeah i`ve decided to leave it alone, can`t really be arsed driving 300 miles to pick it up anyway if I had bought it. Plus, found another one on much closer to me which seems far better. Its another nekkid one but i`m warming to the streetfighter look and as i`m still a novice, don`t intend doing any scarey/stupid shenanigans or ultra high speeds so the lack of full fairings shouldn`t bother me too much. Plus I think it would be comfier for my short arms too having higher handlebars.

I`m sure if I get it i`ll be filling the forums with all the usual daft newbie questions too
Old 24-04-10, 10:56 PM   #5