SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 25-09-06, 09:22 AM   #1
Davido

Default LOTS of smoke

Was riding quite normally yesterday (No, really) and suddenly my bike coughed out an immense cloud of smoke. By the time I stopped it had filled the road with light white smoke.

So this leads me to think, have my piston/oil rings gone?

We left the bike to cool down for 15 minutes and everything was normal (no funny sounds) but as soon as I went to ride off the smoke came back. Not as much as before, but still a little worrying.

I've been advised to go through the usual hassle of compression testing, checking plugs etc to see which cylinder may be the faulty one, but I'd just want to know what you all think?

Also Once you pull the plug cap out from inside the cylinders, is the sparky inside it or still in the cylinder? I'm new to SV fiddling, so I'm a tad confused. Its a little different than my old Aprilia.

Cheers again.
Old 25-09-06, 09:40 AM   #2
21QUEST
Mega Poster

It might have something to do with all the NOT normal riding

Ok not much help but I'm sure someone will be around in a moment to do a proper diagnosis.

Cheers
Ben
Blue, mate, having read a lot of your stuff I'd say 'in your head' is unknown territory for most of us
21QUEST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-06, 09:47 AM   #3
Davido

Hehe, cheers. Very insightful.

Forgot to mention the oil level was very slightly overfilled, which is why I'm thinking it may have popped an oil seal somewhere.

Ran the bike a few minutes ago and the smoke level isn't drastic but its still coming out reasonably thick. I'll whip up a vid for you to see.
Old 25-09-06, 09:58 AM   #4
northwind
Mega Poster

Default Re: LOTS of smoke

Quote:
Originally Posted by Davido