SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Track Days Post up here about trackdays

Old 21-12-09, 07:29 PM   #1
SteveJ

Default SV650 Trackbike

Hi,

Firstly an introduction as I'm a newbie here. I'm Steve from Whitby, North Yorkshire. I've been riding for the past 12 years and have completed a few track days on hired bikes.

I'm in the process of buying a 2004 SV650s to run as a track bike in 2010. First off though, I'm going to take it to the Isle of Man TT in June so it will need to stay road legal until then.

I've identified the following needs and would welcome comment from those who have been down this path before. It is just possible that I may try for my ACU license in 2011 and so I'd like to keep the bike eligible for minitwins racing.

1. Rear shock. Stock unit seems pretty crap and underdamped. What have folk changed this for? Is it necessary to go the full monty with an Ohlins or Penscke new shock or is it possible to change for something like a GSXR stock shock?

2. Forks. New springs, damping emulators and thicker fork oil. All advice gratefully etc......

3. Race bodywork. Any recommendations for a 2004 'pointy'. BB plastics? ARD?

4. Tyre choice for trackdays?

5. 520 chain conversion. ? drop one tooth on front sprocket?

6. Rearsets. Who recommends what?

7. The bike has an aftermarket can but I guess I'll be looking at K&N filter and PC3 before too long but I'm a great believer in sorting out the handling before looking for more horses.

8. Once the bike is track/race setup, any recommendations on trailers (as I don't think a van is on the cards)?

Sorry to post such a list and I'm sure much has been posted in the past on the forum but thanks for any advice and Happy Christmas!

Steve
Old 21-12-09, 08:47 PM   #2
fastdruid
Mega Poster

Default Re: SV650 Trackbike

1) Depends on budget, GSXR shock is better than std but not a patch on a proper shock.