SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 30-03-15, 06:00 PM   #1
petro53

Default Pirelli SC's and tyre warmers

Hi Y'all. I apologize if this has been addressed before but I could not find a reference for it. I recently bought a SV race bike that came with multiple sets of Pirelli SC's. I am a novice track rider (only 5 track days so far) and was told by someone that since if I do not use warmers I will not be able to generate enough heat in the tyre. My other track bike (hypermotard 1100s) has Michelin Pilot Power 3's and I do not use warmers with no issues. Thoughts??
petro53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-03-15, 07:25 PM   #2
Stuart42

Default Re: Pirelli SC's and tyre warmers

Hi

Depends what track you are at and weather.

Somewhere like Brands being short takes a few laps to warm, but should get there eventually.

Mate was racing there last weekend and tyres weren't great, track temp was only 11 degrees mind you.

I race on roads and some don't use warmers on circuits like Tandragee which is 5 miles long.

But don't see why tyres not warming up after a few laps of most circuits.

Just take your time to give them a chance to warm.

I did race for years without warmers so is possible.

Hope this helps

Cheers
Stuart
Stuart42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-03-15, 07:12 AM   #3
Red Herring
Mega Poster

The Pirelli's are road tyres so they shouldn't have to much of a problem being ridden cold initially, but just remember you need to heat the whole tyre up for it to work properly, not just the "surface". As you gain experience you will develop a "feel" for it but it's very easy to go out and ride gently for a couple of laps and then think the tyres are warm and go for it, and then wonder why you either wreck the tyre or the whole bike when it lets go....