SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 29-04-09, 08:24 PM   #1
andreis

Default Ticking sound in front of the engine - Should I worry?

Hi everyone I'm new to this forum and a complete newbie to motorcycling. I'm about to buy my first bike, a '99 sv650 s from someone else.

Trouble is, the owner says there's a newly developed "ticking" sound coming from the front cylinder, somewhere to the left. As a result, he dropped the price (quite a bit), which makes the bike VERY affordable. I've read the other posts about the ticking sounds of the sv, but I'm still worried. If it's not the cam tensioner (which seems to be the culprit for most ticking sounds), could it be something more serious that would make the bike worthless?

Oh, and I should mention that the owner lives quite far from me (approx 600km ~ 400 miles), so if it's something serious and I go, I've got a long drive for nothing ahead of me..
The bike has on it about 41k km (~26k miles) (thought it might help...)

Any thoughts on the matter would be greatly appreciated
Old 29-04-09, 08:28 PM   #2
kurtis.randle

Default Re: Ticking sound in front of the engine.. Should I worry?

Quote:
Originally Posted by andreis View Post
hi everyone i'm new to this forum and a complete newbie to motorcycling. I'm about to buy my first bike, a '99 sv650 s from someone else.

Trouble is, the owner says there's a newly developed "ticking" sound coming from the front cylinder, somewhere to the left. As a result, he dropped the price (quite a bit), which makes the bike very affordable. I've read the other posts about the ticking sounds of the sv, but i'm still worried. If it's not the cam tensioner (which seems to be the culprit for most ticking sounds), could it be something more serious that would make the bike worthless?