SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 17-10-07, 08:53 PM   #1
catchsomesv650

Default Re-Jetting SV650S

I've been lurking around in the forum for quite a bit. but despite my very limited knowledge of motorcycles, i've read several times about jetting the carbs once you get a full exhaust system.

i bought my 01 sv650s used and from what the mechanic says, the motorcycle has never been jetted.

so heres the thing. they say to re-jet the carbs, it'll be $200 labor and $100 parts. im a poor college student at san diego, so my question is

1. is it necessary?
2. what are the benefits?

edit: btw. i have a yoshi full exhaust
Old 17-10-07, 09:02 PM   #2
petevtwin650

Default Re: Re-Jetting SV650S

I'll get my thoughts in before the people who actually know what they are talking about post.

I've been running my Sv with as full aftermarket system for 15,000miles+ with no APPARENT problems. No doubt the bike would benefit from a rejetting and dyno run but unless you really feel the bike is underperforming or the spark plugs are showing signs of a lean mixture then save your student dollars.
Old 17-10-07, 09:04 PM   #3
catchsomesv650

thanks for your advice petevtwin.

as long as it is not a ticking time bomb (ie. overheats the engine, increase engine wear, etc), then im okay not re-jetting. performance-wise, the bike is already fast enough for me
Old 17-10-07, 09:14 PM   #4
petevtwin650

Quote:
Originally Posted by catchsomesv650 View Post

performance-wise, the bike is already fast enough for me
That's because you already have the fastest Sv650s.

Blue and Curvy.
Old 17-10-07, 10:05 PM   #5
tranx