SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 23-06-10, 07:26 PM   #1
Sagi3

Default My SV is ugly - how do I fix this?

Hy Guys and Gals

I'm new here so please be gentile with me

I started riding just over a year and a half ago on a Honda Lead 100 scooter, affectionatly know as "The Beast". As you can imaggine it was not particularly fast, but some twist and go fun that got me to work and back.

I then got a new job in Oct last year and passed my DAS in order to get a "proper" bike for my 20 mile round trip commute. My first "big bike" was a 1998 Honda VFR 800, which was my pride and joy and I loved every minute of riding it, until............

Some twit in a pick-up decided to talk to his kid and turn right with no signal, and without looking and totally wiped me out along with my pride and joy

I'm OK but sadly the bike is on a destination to the pearly gates, and i'm sure St Peter will let her in as she was such a beauty!

However.....

After lots of negotiation, and over 4 hours worth of phone calls to my insurance company I now have the opportunity to own a 2000 SV650 bikini after reading such good things about it, mainly from here but also MCN and reviews found on the web.

My problem is though...... Although it rides a treat, and is far more useable for me than a full-on sportsbike. I think it is ugly!!!

The lack of fairings, the gawdy rear end number plate holder, massive indicators and sadly, lack of fuel gauge!

I live in the South coast of the UK and have been spending countless hours scouring the web for what I should do with my new pride and joy.

I have around £200-£300 to spend initially, then a little extra each month to put towards imporving/customising my new stead. And I am asking for help.

What would you recommend I spend my money on and in what order would you recommend I do it in.