SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 09-07-08, 09:10 PM   #1
andyg1978

Post Advice for a Newbie

I have just joined SV650.org and would just like to say hi to everybody out there.
I am very new to riding, having just passed my DAS late May of this year and for my first bike I purchased a 2000 SV650 Curvy.
Could anybody help me out with a coupe of questions?
Firstly I have a question about the SV650 in general. What sort of things should I be checking and how often should I be checking them. Please dont hold back with things that may be obvious, I have been a car driver for years and am used to checking oil, tyre pressures etc but I am completely new to bikes.
I also have a couple of questions about the my SV650. The bike itself is in very good condition for a 2000 bike, with just over 14,000 on the clock. There are a couple of things I would like to do to it though.
The wing mirrors are not standard mirrors. You can see from the photos they are circular and raised nigher than the mirriors that the Curvy came with. They have rust on them and I would like to replace them. Can anybody suggest replacements and where to buy them from.

Also there seems to be some marks on the front forks. Does anybody know if there is a way to remove them and get the forks back to being nice and shiny?

Hope to hear from you all soon.

AndyG -
Old 09-07-08, 10:22 PM   #2
muffles

Default Re: Advice for a Newbie

Are they definitely the wrong mirrors? Just had a quick google and as I thought they are circular as standard, about that height too, they just aren't chrome in the picture I found. But that's not to say they didn't come in chrome...

Old 09-07-08, 10:24 PM   #3
muffles

Oh and I suspect you'd need to take the forks off and spray them to get rid of those (stone chip?) marks...
Old 09-07-08, 10:59 PM   #4
Shellywoozle
Mega Poster