SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 16-05-05, 02:24 PM   #1
aimhamilton

Default SV650 v's The Rest

Hi All,

Probably a similar question(s) has been asked a thousand times before so I do apologise if some of you have to go over old ground.

I am new to the whole biking thing, but as mentioned in a recent post am very keen to get a SV650 K3 (or later). I have always liked the look of the bike and am genuinely impressed at the reviews/support/fan base that the bikes get. Plus it seems to be a very good bike to "start off" with.

However, I am the last of 8 friends to get a bike and they all have either Sports 600's, or 1000 Tourers (Fazers etc) and they say that I will be "p*ssed off" that I will not be able to "open it up" (obviously on the private bits of road/runways that we ride down) and I will be left a little behind. They all agree the SV is a great bike, but think that something like a CBR600 or YZF Thundercat would be a better option.

Having only ridden lower spec bikes (125s, ER500's) and never ridden the SV (neither have any of my mates to be fair) or any Sports 600 on an open road I cannot believe that there will be that much difference in acceleration/mid range/etc on a SV to a Sports 600? Or is there?

As I haven't yet bought a bike, this is the question that is stopping me from doing anything.

Discuss?
Old 16-05-05, 02:27 PM   #2
Iansv

See if you can get a test ride..... Taz do them sometimes

You won't be able to keep up with them when it goes to silly speeds on straight roads but you'll be doing them quite often on the twisties... altho having lived in peterborough before its all straight roads and roadabouts

Plus yours will sound better if you put a fruity can on it. Basically the only way they are gonna leave you behind is if there is lots of 100mph+ riding
Old 16-05-05, 02:29 PM   #3