SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 29-01-14, 10:48 PM   #1
fchat63

Default Curvy fuel sensor rubber seal?

Hi all,
I've just swapped my tank over to one I got off ebay because of the dreaded drain tube rust and the fuel sensor has a rubber O ring which looks worn out. Checking the good old Haynes manual there's no mention of the O ring.
Can anybody let me know if I need to replace it or as the Haynes manual says just seal the threads of the sensor unit and what type of sealer would I use.
And if anyone knows of a reliable repair for the rusted tube I would love to know!
it's a year 2000 sv650sy.
Thanks everybody.
Old 30-01-14, 12:46 AM   #2
Alexander94

Default Re: Curvy Fuel Sensor Rubber Seal

Hi, I'm not an expert by any stretch of the imagination but I did replace my fuel sensor and O-ring very recently, I'd probably suggest that you replace the O-ring if you can find one easily and cheaply (just go to any plumbing shop, they should have something that'll fit)
I'd trust a new O-ring more than i would trust some sealant on the thread, seeing as you run the risk of some sealant getting inside the tank and maybe clogging up the fuel line (unlikely, I know but better safe than sorry) or missing a bit and ending up with a fuel leak.

That's just my opinion though, I don't think there's a right or wrong answer to this really
Old 30-01-14, 04:11 PM   #3
embee
Mega Poster

Default Re: Curvy fuel sensor rubber seal?

Just a word of caution, rubbers used for water systems (and coolant) are not usually suitable for fuel/oil. Plumbing type O-rings will usually be EPDM.

Coolant/water/brake fluid seals are usually EPDM, fuel systems might be Nitrile or quite possibly Viton (trade names for NBR or FKM/FPM fluorocarbon respectively). Choice of materials discussed quite well at http://www.polymax.co.uk/o-rings/