SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 29-08-09, 10:43 PM   #1
Dizeee

Default Stats - what do I straddle?

Just out of interest,

I only picked this thing up yesterday as a complete newbie.

Don't worry, I won't be leaping into the unknown, my respect for the bike is massive.

However, having come from a car that can do 60 in 5 seconds, and having driven the same car at around 150 on numerous occasions (track obviously) I just wondered...

What are the stats for the SK5?

Today, and even yesterday to be fair, and having felt comfortable I started to use some throttle. Now, I have not got to the point where the wheel lifts but, I do know that I am hitting 30 in a couple of seconds, and having used 2nd I have booted it to 50 in around a couple more. I have not felt weight shift so far as I know, but, it has to be said, in terms of acceleration, I am used to the change in road speed and not alien to the consequential obsrevational/practical differences.

What I have noticed is that, whereas my car (which was a 300bhp turbo) "FELT" fooking quick, the bike doesnt. Now I am only using the bike probably to around 65% of it's capabilty. But, having been spritely, and having been happy to press on, as much as I love the torque and as much as I know that it would **** on most cars, the "sensation" is totaly different.

It does not feel urgent, or like it is even trying. Which, is probably good.

Educate me!
Old 29-08-09, 10:47 PM   #2
kwak zzr

Default Re: Stats - what do I straddle?

your sv should go to 60 in 4ish seconds and top out at about 125.
Old 29-08-09, 10:49 PM   #3
Spiderman
Where the hell am I?
Mega Poster

not sure what the actul 0-60mph time for an SV is but remember this...0-60 is for cars and wimps, 0-100 is for bikes and heros