SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 10-06-05, 07:26 PM   #1
Quiff Wichard
Mega Poster

Default I am a mechanic 'ish

I am proud of myself- changed all my pads and bled the system today all on my own- wot a good boy!.. anyone any top tips for bleeding the system??
Old 11-06-05, 12:31 PM   #2
weegaz22

Default Re: I am a mechanic 'ish

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quiff Wichard
anyone any top tips for bleeding the system??
buy a speed bleeder of some sort, makes life so much easier
Old 11-06-05, 02:20 PM   #3
wheelnut

fasten a tiewrap around your front brake lever tonight and feel the improvement in the morning, see if you can do the same with the rear brake.

It gets rid of any excess air bubbles after you have bled the system, even though there shouldnt be any
Old 11-06-05, 05:50 PM   #4
spudnuts

Well i changed oil and filter and also removed calipers front and back, cleaned them up, and re-assembled, and they still work :P
What pads did you put in, mine are on the way out.

spudnuts
Old 11-06-05, 08:21 PM   #5
Quiff Wichard
Mega Poster

just done a full oil and oil filter change too- i KNOW IT AINT HARD- BUT ITS NICE DOIN IT YERSELF WEN U R A NUMPTY ..

I will try the zip tie around the lever - now I am in me dressing gown !! great ! ha ha

pads- ??.>> dunno- just ones that the dealer said were standard and will fit- they were only 16quid (rear) so wont be anyhting ace- but they stop the bike !!...

wots a speed bleeder? I just used some pipe i have- aint clear though and is a little small- went to local fish shop and he gave me some pipe - but it is wayyy too small !! so need to look for some more--

TBH - both brakes front and Back still feel a bit "spongy" - I thought it wud only need a toucjh on the pedal/lever and brakes wud be on- but seem a bit squishy - maybe it is me- or? wot could it be>