SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 13-01-14, 03:57 PM   #1
Scriv09

Default Commuting on an SV?

Have just purchased myself a 63 plate PDI'd sv650 in black for 4k for commuting to work, hoping this is the right choice, is it suitable for a 40/50 mile commute each way 4 days a week, how is servicing? How far between oil changes? And can I get good tyre life..
I hope so
Cheers
Mike
Old 13-01-14, 04:16 PM   #2
WARDY25

Default Re: SV commuting

i'm no expert, in fact far from it but i passed in November and have been doing 100+ miles on a weekend without any hassle on mine, cant fault it really
Old 13-01-14, 04:41 PM   #3
jambo
Mega Poster

Default Re: SV commuting

Well you've bought it now....

Service intervals are every 3500 miles or so after the first one. Fuel economy can be perfectly decent, I get something like 45-48mpg on my commute and that's pretty much all London, as soon as you get some momentum it'll get better than that assuming you ride with a little finesse.

Service costs are fairly average for the type, there's very little in the way of big nasty suprises, just altenating minor and major services. I'd invest in some kind of auto chain oiler such as the scottoiler. I would also have a look at a corrosion protector such as ACF50. There are other products for both the rolls above, but these ones have been tested over many years and found to work for the majority of people very well.

We live in happy times as far as tyres go. 10,000 miles from a pair of sports-touring tyres is not unachievable, pick ones you like the logo of, everyone has their own opinions, few of them based on riding with each tyre in a similar state of wear back to back.

Jambo
Old 13-01-14, 07:57 PM   #4
Nutsinatin

Default Re: Commuting on an SV?