SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 01-06-13, 08:45 AM   #1
stranger12

Default Sv650 stiff front suspension?

Hi all,
As i am new to sv and this is my first big bike i am nit sure whether the stiffness of the suspension is normal or not

For instance when i go over bumps the fork is really stiff or for example the other day riding on city with slight speed i went over a bump and i was pushed back in my seat ending up with having a streached hand on the grip

Is that all normal ?

Also the turning circle is horrible compared to my 125 is that again normal?
Old 01-06-13, 09:17 AM   #2
dkid

Default Sv650 stiff suspension

Try putting a cable tie round the shiny part of the fork just above the dust seal. Not so tight that it scratches though.
Go for a decent ride and when you get back check where the cable tie is. It should show you how much travel you're using on the forks. You want to be using as much available travel as possible without bottoming out the fork. If the cable tie has not moved very far up the fork then you are too stif at the front.
What do you weigh? SV's are known for being fairly soft as standard and most people want to firm up the suspension.

Do a search for setting sag via the preload adjusters too. A quick read up on this should give you a better idea of what's going on.

Also, when were the forks last serviced with fresh oil? Are the springs stock or aftermarket? All makes a difference.

Last edited by dkid; 01-06-13 at 09:21 AM.
Old 01-06-13, 09:38 AM   #3
stranger12

Default Re: Sv650 stiff suspension

Thanks i am around 21st
I dont know when it was last services and bought it recently
I dont think the front has spring as all i can see is the fork the rear does have one though
Old 01-06-13, 09:50 AM   #4
yorkie_chris
Noisy Git
Mega Poster