SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Racing and Paddock Chat The latest news, talk, and gossip from the world of bike racing, you can also discuss track days here too.

Old 23-06-15, 08:05 PM   #1
kiggles

Default track day newbie here

So been riding a while

- sv650 50,000 miles
- honda cbr600rr 20,000 + miles

track days:

- brands hatch indy twice novice
- rockingham once novice

so its almost time to give up road riding and stick to the track. using my cbr600rr 2006 bike just been cat C from insurance (just a few sratches) as my track bike and its great to finally use it properly.

I got another honda cbr600rr 2005 for the road handy as oth parts for bike can swap over.

okay to the point. although running road pilot 3 be nice to get a set of tyre warmers second hand is fine. but if i buy new off ebay ones to avoid? also should i get one where you can adjust the temperture?

doing this on the cheap £100+ a track day is bad enough! any other mods worth doing. next is suspension set up and diablo supercors tyres.

I am new to the sport,t so tuning the bike is pointless and so is expsensive exhaust and race parts.

got rental grips, stomp grips.

Last edited by kiggles; 23-06-15 at 08:06 PM.
Old 23-06-15, 09:04 PM   #2
ogden
Mega Poster

Default Re: track day newbie here

Get a set of Racetech warmers from Holroyd. They're no more expensive than a used set from eBay and they work. No need for adjustable temps, you just need a thermostat that'll keep them at a steady temperature, and the Racetechs have that.

Don't worry too much about the Supercorsas either. If you use a race compound you'll get through tyres at a crazy rate and if you use road compound you may not even notice much of a difference. I've been using Michelin Power Supersport on my gixer for a few years and they're great for trackday, especially at novice level - plenty of grip and I get ten days from a rear. Even raced on them for a bit, to keep the tyre bill down.