SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 10-09-17, 08:09 PM   #1
Downshif88

Default Curvy Electrical Issue.....Help Needed

I own a 1999 fully faired curvy which has developed a rather odd electrical fault. The side lights have suddenly stopped working, but they work when the key is turned to the "Park" position. I've searched the forum for a similar issue but had No luck.

My thoughts so far:

It may of been the switch gear on the bars, but when switched to the side light "on" position the dash lights come on which in my mind indicates the switch is working fine.

Its not any of the bulbs as they all work in the Park Position.

I don't believe its the fuses either as Iv'e checked over them and they seemed fine.

The connections which are visible with the fairings off all seem solid. (I'm no auto electrician though)

My next step is to use a voltmeter on the front side light connection point to see if any voltage is there (Need to buy one first though).

I'm pretty stumped with this one. I've not dropped or damaged the bike in anyway which could lead to this.

Any of your thoughts on the above would help greatly.

Thanks in Advance

DS
Old 10-09-17, 08:49 PM   #2
maviczap
Mega Poster

Default Re: Curvy Electrical Issue.....Help Needed

Did you check the green ignition connector under the tank?

I'd check that and the big yellow multi coonectors in the fairing for starters, clean them up and protect ACF50 after
maviczap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-17, 09:06 AM   #3
R1ffR4ff
Mega Poster

As above.My big connector under the tank had corrosion on the pins and sockets.I used a small electrical screwdriver wrapped with a bit of 500 grit paper to score off the corrosion.Then spray with Switch cleaner(Maplins) and then treated with ACF50.