SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 10-08-13, 06:34 PM   #1
Seggons

Default Looking to buy a DSLR camera.

I've been keeping an eye on Davey's "Recommend me a camera" thread and I seem to be settled on the idea of a Cannon 1100D. I've always liked the idea of owning a DSLR camera but have been scared off by all the technical jargon and settings on them. But I reckon with a bit of Youtube and Google-flu I should be alright.

As I'm new to this I'm not quite sure what I'm going to need to get me going? I've got a budget of about £300, could push to £350 if I really had to. I like the idea of a brand new camera but I've seen used ones going cheap. Is it a good or bad idea to go used?

Comments please as it's all new to me. Thanks.
Old 10-08-13, 06:47 PM   #2
Specialone

Default Re: Looking to buy a DSLR camera.

Nikon end of
Old 10-08-13, 06:50 PM   #3
Jackie_Black

I have always used canon DSLR's. I had a 350D when they came out and now have a 5D MK2 (which is phenomenal). One of my favourite things with canon is that no matter how flash a body it is. There is always a NOOB function to allow you to just point and shoot, so you wont miss a picture. As you get more confident you can play about with the other functions of the camera until you feel the need to spend a months pay on one lens!

I always buy camera bodies new but lenses i'm not quite as bothered about. The only reason i buy new is that technically a shutter has a limited number of actuations (in theory) and you never know how much its been used.