SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 31-07-11, 01:08 PM   #1
mister c
Mega Poster

Default Helmets at Petrol stations

I've been using my local Morrisons to refuel ever since it opened about 15 years ago.
When I called in last night to fill the Triumph up I sat there for what seemed an age waiting for the person to press the button so that I could fill up.
2 cars came in just behind me & they started filling up, which I thought a bit strange.
A morrison customer came over to me & said that the cashier wouldn't serve me unless I removed my helmet. My dummy was thrown, I placed the nozzle back in the pump & left giving the cashier the finger, which is not like me at all.
One of the cars that pulled in after me had 2 youths in it & the lad filling up was wearing a baseball cap & shades. Now, I would like to know what the difference is. Would they ask someone wearing a Burkha to remove it?
I am writing a letter to Morrisons, but I know that it wont make any difference, but Morrisons will be losing about £1000 worth of fuel a year off me as I called at Sainsburys 10 miles down the road & didnt have an issue.
mister c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-11, 01:17 PM   #2
Specialone

Default Re: Helmets at Petrol stations

Im in total agreement mate, I bet you'd never find one single garage EVER that has asked for a burka to be removed.

In fairness, I've only been asked twice to remove mine, it's very annoying, like you say if caps, hats, burkas, turbans etc etc were treated the same then fair enough, you can't argue top much.
Old 31-07-11, 01:19 PM   #3
yorkie_chris
Noisy Git
Mega Poster

I had it once when they had allowed me to draw fuel but then asked me to take lid off at counter, I came back with line "I'm offering to pay you in legal tender, do you want to accept it?" sadly the guy went "er yeah ok" and served me.