SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 04-04-07, 01:35 AM   #1
DaffyDuck

Default SV650S or SV650 (2007)?

I can't make my mind for many days already, which one is better? Or what are their advantages and disadvantages?

I am a newbie, so I will not have a chance to test ride both of them to compare. Currently I like the naked model a bit more for its classic look, but all reviews are saying that its wind protection is pretty bad at high speeds, which makes me turn to S model...

Old 04-04-07, 10:02 AM   #2
Mossy

Default Re: SV650S or SV650 (2007)?

the s has a greater top end cos it has the front fairin on and suzuki saw fit to do this because it wouldnt b so uncomfortable for the rider! as a result of this the normal sv has "bitier" acceleration.

myself ide go for the s everytime cos it looks sportier and it is afterall a sports tourer not a naked streetfighter, it just suits the bike better.

it depends what kind of riding your goin to b doin, in most situations the s will win out.

in the end its dwn to personal preferance, if you like the n model, go for that
Old 04-04-07, 10:29 AM   #3
Baph

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mossy View Post
the s has a greater top end cos it has the front fairin on and suzuki saw fit to do this because it wouldnt b so uncomfortable for the rider! as a result of this the normal sv has "bitier" acceleration.
To be honest, the acelleration/top end is far more to do with the different gear ratio's than it is the fairing.

Personally, I'm a commuter, and so wind blast was the deciding factor. I wasn't looking for anything without at least bikini fairing.

The fairing isn't great, but it helps. I can happily ride along my private disused air strip at about 110 sat almost bolt upright.