SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 05-07-07, 06:58 PM   #1
Biker_Billy

Default Original Shock Replacement

Hiya,

Have read quite a few interesting things on this forum when I searched for rear shocks, but still not sure what to go for...

Im a novice rider, with a SK3 - 17k miles. Im around 17 stone, and have the preload sex to max which seems to have helped the wallowing feeling from the back end. I think (although not sure) that the shock on my bike is probably past its best, and was thinking of doing something about it in the winter, however, I have seen this on ebay:

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/SUZUKI-SV650-K...QQcmdZViewItem

Just wondered what you all thought of it, obviously it will fit, tho will it be better looking for something else? I hope to do a track day at some point (more for experience), and I am certainly not a fast road rider, so I'm not sure if a aftermarket shock would justify the £300+ price tag...

Thanks in advance.

Billy
Old 05-07-07, 07:20 PM   #2
Ceri JC

Default Re: Original Shock Replacement

Personally, I'd not replace with an OE shock. Even assuming that its mileage is true (and there's little way of proving it- I cleaned my old 27K shock before storing it and it'd aesthetically pass as having done a fraction of that to the untrained eye), it's still going to start noticeably deteriorating in another 10K miles and being almost dangerously ineffective after 20K (okay I'm exaggerating a bit, but mine had reached the point where I replaced it primarily out of safety concerns).