SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Mini-Twins Goto Minitwins Official Site

Old 22-03-10, 09:10 PM   #1
gavd

Default suspension

Hi guys just after some advice regarding my shock. My bike is a 2002 sv650N recently converted for track day/ race use and i am around 12 stone when kitted up. Have linear springs and heavier oil in the forks and currently standard rear shock. Had a practise day at east fortune on sunday and front end felt quite good but the shock was really bad. Couple of people said that they noticed how much it was bouncing me about, anyways i know i will have to upgrade. The problem is i am an apprentice so have very little in the way of a budget so cant really go for a brand new ohlins etc. I have read that a zx6r/gsxr shock is quite good for the road but dont know about the track? i could maybe stretch to a second hand aftermarket shock.

Any help would be greatly appreciated and also if anyone has a shock i could purchase then get in touch. Thanks, Gav
Old 22-03-10, 09:49 PM   #2
davepreston

Default Re: suspension

yc has a penski shock going cheap
Old 23-03-10, 12:09 AM   #3
Berlin

Gav, were you on a black curvy naked with chrome handlebars, at the east end of the pits? If so, I saw your suspension problems in the flesh!

C
Old 23-03-10, 09:38 AM   #4
gavd

Yeh mate that was me with the chrome handlebars! Was it noticable then? was my first time at east fortune and second ever on track so was probably holding you up!lol. Are you running a curvy or? will have to speak to you next time im down. Hmm that penske shock sounds interesting!
Old 23-03-10, 02:49 PM   #5
davepreston

yorkie chris is your man he's on at the min
Old 23-03-10, 02:53 PM   #6
yorkie_chris
Noisy Git
Mega Poster

PM'd

Stock forks and shock can be fairly comedy bouncy. Doesn't take much effort to get the shock so aerated it just loses all damping.
Old 23-03-10, 06:08 PM   #7
Berlin