SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 03-04-10, 02:28 PM   #1
Ally

Default FI light and high idle.

Hi all.

My 05 SV650S seems to be acting up and im not sure why. Its only happened since I started riding it after the winter and also since I have just removed the 33bhp restrictor from the throttle.

It seems to be when it hits approx 8 or 8 and a half thousand revs that the FI red warning light comes on and the bike stays at approx 3 thousand revs. I have to then push the accelerator grip the opposite way to calm the revs otherwise its hard to brake without coasting. However, if I pull over to the side of the road, turn the engine off then back on again, everything seems to be fine again. Seems only to happen when I gun it a bit in 5th or 6th gear.

Does anyone know why this is? Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks

Ally
Old 03-04-10, 04:32 PM   #2
Spikenipple

Default Re: Has this ever happened to anyone?

Half of that doesn't make any sense. The bike is staying at 3k revs then you have to let go of the accelerator for the revs to go down again? Isn't that what happens on most bikes?

My old SV

South & West Surfer
Spikenipple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-10, 06:22 PM   #3
glang

Hiya, the fuel injection brain is detecting a problem and going into backup mode which sets the tickover to 3000rpm. The fault you have is obviously very temporary because when u turn off the ignition it resets the system (if it was still present the FI light wouldnt go off).
To identify the fault you have to put it in 'dealer mode' when its happened and without turning off the ignition - see Amanda's post thats running at the moment.
glang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-10, 06:50 PM   #4
TSM
The Sick Man
Mega Poster

1) get paperclip
2) take spare key
3) cause FI light to happen
4) pull over and keep bike running