SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 17-05-05, 04:47 PM   #1
ujoni08

Default Where are bikes allowed to park?

I am a newbie, and saw the thread about parking tickets. I just wondered, is there a website that gives clear information about where bikes can park? I know there are dedicated parking spaces in town, but can a bike park in, say, a car parking space, or at the end of a row of parked cars, without being on the yellow line, etc? What about a pedestrianised, paved area of the high street, without blocking access? Where else do seasoned bikers park without breaking the law?
Jon.
Old 17-05-05, 04:49 PM   #2
Carsick

technically there isn't any difference between a car and a bike for parking purposes, except for motorcycle only bays.
You even have to buy tickets if you park in a space requiring them.
Old 17-05-05, 05:00 PM   #3
hall13uk

we bikers are a public nusience so we are not allowed to park anywhere.
well that what it feels like anyway
Old 17-05-05, 05:04 PM   #4
Couerdelion

Yeah that's one thing that isn't quite right.

I pay in a pay and display place, buy a ticket and then how exactly do I secure it to my windscreen so some scrote can't just walk off with it and put it in his car?
Old 17-05-05, 05:13 PM   #5
Jabba

Quote:
Originally Posted by Couerdelion
I pay in a pay and display place, buy a ticket and then how exactly do I secure it to my windscreen so some scrote can't just walk off with it and put it in his car?
In Cardiff, we can park in the on-street voucher-parking areas for free as the Wardens accept that we have noway to Pay and Display.

Have to pay in the NCPs, though.
Old 17-05-05, 05:17 PM   #6
hall13uk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Couerdelion
Yeah that's one thing that isn't quite right.