SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 03-02-06, 01:45 PM   #1
timwilky
Mega Poster

Default Being turned towards the dark side

I have been a code cutter for over 25 years. My areas of experteese are:

Java
C
C++
PHP
PERL
Fortran
Basic
plus Oracle development tools, ie forms 2.3 - forms 6 etc
Various macro assembler environments

Operating system experience from a development target has tradionally been Linux, unix or WebSphere/tomcat etc.

now my boss has suddenly decided that after years of "We don't programme, we buy off the shelf" and sacking all programmers. I am a project manager so have stayed. That he needs a personal code cutter. Hello Tim

But his project is a yucky nasty job and he has recognised it is outside of my area of experteese so I am being booked on my first training course in about 10 years.

The darkside beckons. C# Programming for Windows Applications, followed by
SQL Server 2000 Creating Reporting Solutions using SQL Server 2000 Reporting Services.

I think after attending these I will have to start drinking lager and worship at the alter of Micro$oft. Like hell i will. I can program Fortran in any language

Does this mean I will be able to talk the same language as you pups out there.
Old 03-02-06, 01:58 PM   #2
keithd

Default Re: Being turned towards the dark side

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwilky
blah blah blah

SWOOSH
you have just spoked foreign mr wilky.

Old 03-02-06, 02:03 PM   #3
thor

.Net is great!

No really, they have thought of everything. I've been coding VB a few years and using the framework libraries has been a breath of fresh air. I mean, who wants to write another date/time library. Just get on with application logic and forget about pointers, destructors. .Net assemblies rule too.