SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 08-02-06, 09:39 PM   #1
aimhamilton

Default Hmmm....new season coming and money burning a hole?!?!

All,

As some of you will know I am fairly new to the SV scene and have been the proud owner of an SV650S for 9 months (passed my test in early June last year), have covered nearly 6000 miles since and have enjoyed both fair and poor weather riding! I love my SV and will always have fond memories....

But..... (you sooo knew there was but coming)

The new season is upon us and I have come into some money and am thinking about purchasing a new bike. No, I hear you cry but I have had some trouble recently with the SV and it made me think of alternatives rides for the new season. With the money now in bank I am asking my fellow SV'ers for some good ol' honest advice. So what do I do...change, not change, move up to a SV1000, IL4 600, IL4 1000....decision decisions decisions!

I can afford to buy a brand spanking new bike without trading my SV in but don't see the point in having two bikes and storage would be a big problem too. So its looking like it will be a bike with trade in, some new leathers and a new lid!

I wanted a Daytona 675 but due to demand I wouldn't get one now till September time which is too late for real summers outings and would then be tucked away for another cruel winter. Plus I have read the latest review which says similar things about this and the new R6. Truly awesome on track but gonna be hard work on roads. So I want something that will be in place for March/April time that will be good for long trips, days out, good for touring (journey to Assen in September) etc etc

So far my heartfelt and maybe ill concieved choices are:

Daytona 650 (I do really want a triumph...Brit Mark an all)