SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 17-04-09, 05:34 PM   #1
dmracing

Default Problem, need help as usual!!

Right, during my soaking wet ride home the bike (SVS K5) started to coff and splutter. For the rest of the journey it seemed like it was only running on one cylinder. My guess is that the front spark plug is wet, but I am no expert so if anyone knows what is going one, here is my problem...
  • It started to coff and splutter after about 20 minutes of city riding in the rain.
  • To keep it running I had to hold the throttle open and slip the clutch at slow speed.
  • On the motorway, the bike seemed to feel just like a car that was trying to go up a hill in a way to high gear
  • On slow roads leading to my house it kept on jolting back to normal for a split second.
  • It made it home and was ticking over below the 1,000rpm mark sounding very lumpy.
Please help me point out the problem and find a solution.

Cheers guys!!!
Old 17-04-09, 05:36 PM   #2
fizzwheel
Super Moderator
Mega Poster

Default Re: Problem, need help as usual!!

First thing I'd do would be to remove the front spark plug and dry it out, I suspect thats what your problem is and if its not well you've eliminated one possibility anyway...

K5 GSXR 750 Anniversary Edition
fizzwheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-09, 05:42 PM   #3
JamesMio
Mega Poster

+1 with the Fizzmeister, that sounds very much like the soggy front plug syndrome. Get the plug out, dry it out & stick a splodge of silicon grease around the plug cover to keep it dry in future. We've all had this at one point I think!

Creatomatic
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-04-09, 05:46 PM   #4
2hys

Quote:
Originally Posted by fizzwheel View Post