SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 08-02-13, 11:35 AM   #1
JamesMio
Mega Poster

Default iOS / Bulk Apps install help!?

Background:

I'm a Mac novice (15+ years Windows background), so I'm probably missing something obvious - please bear with me.

We're running latest Mac OS (10.8.2), latest version of Apple Configurator (1.2.1) and latest iOS (6.1) on all iPads & iPhones).

--- --- --- ---

I'm trying to set up a batch of iPhones & iPads for a business. We'll have several with very similar profiles (e.g. Sales Rep1, Sales Rep 2 etc), and it looks like Apple Configurator is the tool do help with this.

First up - is there a basic user guide for this? That tells me what I can and can't actually expect to be able to do with the Configurator app?

Secondly - I'm led to believe I can use this to bulk install a load of apps (free and/or paid). I can see how to drag the apps into the Configurator, but no matter what I do next, the apps don't install onto the device. I hit apply / prepare / check out, whatever - nothing seems to do it.

So far I'm just playing with it to get my head around how it all works, so the only apps I've been trying this with are free ones (e.g. Adobe Reader / Chrome).

Any ideas what I'm doing wrong?

Thanks Org,

James

--- --- --- ---

(Genuine request - please save the Apple bashing for another thread, it's tedious!)

Creatomatic
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-13, 01:30 PM   #2
Mr Speirs
Mega Poster

Default Re: iOS / Bulk Apps install help!?

http://help.apple.com/configurator/mac/1.2/

Have you read through this?