SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Bikes - Talk & Issues Newsworthy and topical general biking and bike related issues. No crapola!
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 02-09-10, 05:26 PM   #1
Jackie_Black

Default Honda hornet 600

Anyone got a new shape hornet 600

I've shortlisted one as my next bike and would like an honest opinion from someone who has one. I sat on one today and they feel lovely but there was no demo bike.
Old 02-09-10, 05:36 PM   #2
Baggy

Default Re: Honda hornet 600

I had a 57 plate up until 2 months ago. I have been riding for 7 years and had 9 bikes and I can honestly say it was the best bike I have owned.

It would do whatever I wanted it to, commute through Birmingham City Centre, a short blast through the twisties and would feel stable and safe no matter what the weather. The power delivery was nice and smooth.

The only down side was the lack of wind protection at high speed. I changed to for my SV1000 due to its physically small size because the Mrs wanted to be pillion again after 3 years of not going on the bike.
Old 02-09-10, 05:38 PM   #3
bobbleheadbarne

nice possition for long rides, like the 4 into one exhaust, handling is really good i thought but what put me off its unfaired for for motorways and the new designed rear looks quiet big good throttle responce at all levels if you do go for one test first for few hours and bargin him down big time
Old 02-09-10, 05:39 PM   #4
yorkie_chris
Noisy Git
Mega Poster

I've ridden a couple of older ones, "meh" describes them pretty well.

Alright bikes, will do owt, can shift in a decent way... but not going to set your hair on fire. Depends what you want it for.
Old 02-09-10, 05:42 PM   #5
Jackie_Black

So is the SV thou smaller? or did you get rid of the hornet cos it was too small for pillions?