SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 02-01-16, 04:05 PM   #1
crazy_sailo5878

Default K5 C28 STVA Fixed - Keep it Simple!

Over the last couple of weeks I have been getting the dreaded C28 fault shortly after start up. Sometimes just stopping and restarting cleared it but in the last couple of days it became more persistent. Anyway I scoured the forums, Haynes manual etc and have now fixed it but wanted to share my experience with other members as the fix was far easier than the rabbit hole I was about to go down. It's a bit embarrassing (especially as an engineer but in my defence I am new to bikes) but the moral of the story is keep it simple and don't forget the basics.

When the FI fault displayed I made a jumper cable as described in other threads and found the dreaded C28 code showing. I duly did internet research and consulted the Haynes manual which told me to check the resistance and continuity of the STVA motor. I had infinity to ground and 16 Ohms across the motor which is outside of the 7-14 (approx) expected range but only a little bit. These readings were found to be constant as I worked through the wiring to the ECM. Continuity from the STVA connector to the ECM was also correct.

The fault diagnosis and internet advice was then to investigate maybe using another ECM or replacing the throttle body. I thought I'd also maybe try to drive the motor by putting a false signal to the motor and starting looking at that. Whilst I was looking into the what I would need to do if I changed the throttle body I came across the bit about STV synchronisation in literally the paragraph before the one I started at a couple of days ago. Here I found about moving the valves via the nut on the end of the gearbox, I knew not to try working the actual butterflies by hand.