SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Idle Banter For non SV and non bike related chat (and the odd bit of humour - but if any post isn't suitable it'll get deleted real quick).
There's also a "U" rating so please respect this. Newbies can also say "hello" here too.

Old 03-07-07, 11:34 AM   #1
Tempest

Default Some newbie info

Hi,

I’m new to the forum but not new to biking. I stumbled over your forum while searching for something. Looks like an interesting place. Seems like you have the standard share of resident oracles and knowledge masters. I will enjoy reading their words of wisdom and contributing a few of my own.

So a couple of questions

1, What’s the average biking experience on here? ( I expect that most active users will be new to biking).

2, Are the majority wimps or do they ride all year round?

3, Do you all ride SV’s ( since I don’t) or is more of a general forum?

Still, just a little about me.

I’ve been riding (nearly every day) for 20 years or so. Had two many bikes to remember. Never had them serviced and I do all my tooling myself. Sorry if I offend, but most dealers are just out to take your money and just leave your pride and joy with some YTS yob to wreck.

I’ve ridden in Cities (including 10 years in London), the country (nice fast twisty roads) and in many other countries. I’ve done the wreckless youngster bit and gone mad on race tracks and track days. I’m now in my clam stage. I like the occasional blast and can old my own against many a younger rider, but most of my bike time is spent commuting where speed can truly kill. Still I always enjoy watching the people go nowhere in their cages….

Still enough, I have important work to do. Oh and Hello.

Tempest.
Old 03-07-07, 11:39 AM   #2
Warthog

Default Re: Some newbie info

Hello mate, welcome to the forum! In answer to your questions: