SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

Suits Post your own reviews, opinions and experiences on this subject.

Old 05-06-10, 03:57 PM   #1
ilovemybike

Default Textiles vs Leathers!

Just thought I would pose a question for all you folk, I am pretty new to riding and have only ever used my RST textile suit, which i think is fantastic but very sweaty in the summer, as I like to wear the trousers in the summer too for the protection. But lately I have been considering buying a set of leathers, dont know whether to get a one piece or two piece, I am 6ft 2 and slim build, so not to sure what to get.

Just would be good to get peoples opinions of what ther prefer, leathers or textiles?
Old 05-06-10, 04:05 PM   #2
nik_nunez

Default Re: Textiles vs Leathers!

textiles for commuting, leathers for fun riding. I dont think i would ride to fast just in textiles. leathers are warm aswell but cooler than textiles. Would go for a two piece over a 1 every time just make sure they fully zip together incase you ever want to do any track days.
Old 05-06-10, 04:10 PM   #3
ilovemybike

Thats a good point, ok then to add to my original post, anyone recommend a good two piece! Or a good supplier, I am on a budget!
Old 05-06-10, 04:28 PM   #4
aarond

get to hein geiricke and have a look aroud mate
Old 05-06-10, 06:10 PM   #5
tanis34

and always try them on if u can as the sizes can change a lot according to make also make sure your boots fit with your leathers
Old 09-06-10, 08:09 PM   #6
leebex

Really want to like leathers, but as so used to textiles I couldnt get on with them. borrowed a set and went for a blast, town, twisties and fast dual and hated them so much, was so uncomfortable, did look good though, well I thought so
Old 09-06-10, 08:12 PM   #7
cb1000rsteve

i prefer my Hood jeans with armour and a Leather Jacket. The jeans r brilliant on and off the bike especially on hot days. Plus the jeans look mint when on a naked bike. :^)
Old 09-06-10, 08:19 PM   #8
Dave20046