SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 03-05-08, 06:04 PM   #1
JamesMio
Mega Poster

Default Battery / Charging Problems

Hi Folks,

Hoping someone might be able to point me in the right direction with a problem I'm having.

2000 (W) Curvy was gradually getting less & less willing to start until eventually it refuses to turn over at all, flat battery.

Trickle charged it and all was well for a week until the same thing happened again, so replaced the battery last weekend. Perfect running for a week but today it's refused to turn over again and really sluggish, jump started Ok though.

If it was a car I'd have diagnosed it as a duff alternator - does this sound about right? If so what kind of job is involved in replacing it? I'm not very experienced mechanically but I'm more happy to have a go and follow my Haynes manual!

Is there anything else I should be checking for first do you think?

Not sure if this makes any difference but this has only started happening since it was serviced a couple of weeks ago. (I know he obvious response is going to be take it back to the garage, which I will if all else fails!)

Creatomatic
JamesMio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-08, 06:51 PM   #2
Blue_SV650S

Default Re: Battery / Charging Problems

it is probably the regulator/rectifier, do a search on here to find out more
Old 03-05-08, 06:58 PM   #3
zunkus

Check voltage on the battery terminals with the engine started. You should read around 14-15volts. If you get less than your alternator is knackered, if you get more your regulator's gone. You need to get hold of a multimeter. A cheap one will be great for motorcycle maintenance, the expensive ones are for techno freaks like me. Still don't use half of the functions to be honest

Here's some more details:

Charging System