SV650.org - SV650 & Gladius 650 Forum

SV Talk, Tuning & Tweaking Discussion and chat on all topics and technical stuff related to the SV650 and SV1000
Need Help: Try Searching before posting

Old 04-09-07, 08:01 PM   #1
squirrel_hunter
Mega Poster

Default Fork Damper Bolt

Who invented that f***king thing?

Right, I need to replace the seals on my SV, as I've never done this before thought I'd give it a little practice on the CBR's forks. My only problem is the damper bolt just spins the internals. Ok, I could go for the broom handle trick and will get one ready for the weekend, but the bible says to compress the fork so the spring exerts pressure on the damper head, how am I supposed to do this?

To get to the bolt I have to remove the wheel and spindle so I can't drop the fork down as I wouldn't get access to it. I don't have a vice (other then alcohol) so cant hold it that way, so what am I supposed to do?

And one final check as the bible is notoriously wrong, do I even have to remove this bolt?

May I add here, GG is awesome and I think I am in love with Stretchie...he rocks my world!

SH2 | 2MA | GROM | YSR
squirrel_hunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-07, 06:39 AM   #2
Spanner Man
Mega Poster

Default Re: Fork Damper Bolt

Good morning.
To compress the forks without a vice, you leave all the internals in place, but you'll probably need the help of a mate.
The broom handle trick really does work, especially if you put a rubber glove over the end of it.
A good tip is to centre punch the allen bolt before any attempt to turn it is made, this will compress the copper washer under it, effectively loosening the bolt slightly. Before re using the washer, anneal it by heating it to a dull red then allow it to cool down.
You really do need to strip the forks completely to change the seals, I've seen many fork stanchions ruined where people have attempted to prise the seals out from the top, & have scratched the stanchions badly.

Cheers.